WordPressMU and VideoPress installed “successfully”. After solving a database problem today, I was successful at uploading video/avi to my Media Library and observed for the first time that my media file was being processed by the transcoder. This 3.6M file was to take ~ 7hrs to transcode. It never finished. It’s been nearly 12 hours and the interface reports the file will be ready in about “a couple of minutes”. It’s been in this state for nearly 5 hours.

The media file page would auto refresh automatically only once during transcoding. Above the video preview area and below the shortcode for embedding would appear this error message: Warning: filesize() [function.filesize]: stat failed for /var/www/wp-content/blogs.dir/1/files/2010/04/Wheres_Nathan.avi in /var/www/wp-content/mu-plugins/video.php on line 258. I’m only guessing that the purpose of the filesize() function might be to determine either the presence of the file in the directory at all, or to maybe determine progress based on file size during transcoding, but I’m just guessing because I really don’t know for sure. If I manually refreshed the page, I’d see that the transcoding time was counting down and seemed to be making progress.

Notice the error message above is for blog 1 (blogs.dir/1/files/). The problem with this is that I uploaded the video through the blog 4 admin interface / media library and accordingly, the file actually existed on disk in this location: /var/www/wp-content/blogs.dir/4/files/2010/04/Wheres_Nathan.avi. So I made a copy of this file and put it here: /var/www/wp-content/blogs.dir/1/files/2010/04/Wheres_Nathan.avi to see if this error message would go away. This did cause the error message to go away, but I have no idea why the script is looking for the file in the blog 1 folder structure when it was posted to the blog 4 file structure. I subsequently removed the file and the error message returned.

Due to the slow nature of the transcoding, I automatically figured something was wrong. Upon installing VideoPress, the instructions ask you to run video-verify-ffmpeg.php. This script ran without issue, downloaded the baby.wmv and transcoded the ~360k file in about 5 seconds. Doing the math, a 3.6M file should take about 10 times longer to transcode, or 50 seconds. Of course I’m not accounting for the fact that it might take longer to transcode .avi than .wmv… I have no idea. I’m not an ffmpeg/video expert, but 7 hours definitely seems way to long considering ffmpeg is supposed to be a very fast and efficient transcoding engine.

I reran video-verify-ffmpeg.php and same results, 360k file in about 5 seconds. So I downloaded the same baby.wmv file from here: http://hailin.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/baby.wmv, then attempted to upload this through blog 4 media library. It showed up in the proper directory (blogs.dir/4/files) on disk and said it would take approximately 7 hours to transcode, even though the video-verify-ffmpeg.php was able to transcode the same file in about 5 seconds. The error message appeared again looking for the file in (blogs.dir/1/files) even though I uploaded through the blog 4 administrative interface.

The final test was to try to upload baby.wmv through the main site (blog 1) administrative interface. The file showed up on disk in the proper folder (blogs.dir/1/files), no error message appeared, and the file reported it would take 7 hours to transcode.

Sorry for the long post. I figured more detail would be best. I suspect I’m having more than one problem here. I really don’t know what to do because I’m new to ffmpeg, the VideoPress script, and while I’m comfortable editing some amount of PHP files, I’m by no means a PHP programmer.

If anyone can help me resolve this, I would be very grateful. Thanks in advance for your help.